The Levels of Compression

Graduated compression comes in different levels of compression. The most common levels are first the 15-20 mmHg therapeutic or moderate compression. The second most common is 20-30 mmHg, also know as medical grade or firm compression. This level of compression will be firmer on your legs to aid in more severe leg conditions than the lighter compression levels. Some of these conditions include swelling feet, varicose veins, deep vein thrombosis (DVT), blood pooling in your legs/feet (during long travel periods or pregnancy) and other arterial and venous insufficiencies.

Medical grade compression comes in various types of products, like our compression socks and our compression hosiery. So no matter what your style, you can still benefit from the medical grade therapy.

The tabs below give reasons as to why each level may be used:

Compression Level Indications

Gentle Compression: For leg fatigue; achy legs and feet; traveling; people on their feet for long hours.

Moderate Compression or Therapeutic Compression: For frequent travelers; tired achy legs; those prone to mild swelling in legs, ankles and feet; during and after pregnancy; spider varicose veins; prolonged sitting or standing. Encourages vascular wellness.

Firm or Medical Grade Compression: For varicose veins; moderate swelling and edema; arterial and venous insufficiencies; reduces pooling of blood in the legs; protection against deep vein thrombosis (DVT); during and after pregnancy; Frequent and long distance travel.

Extra Firm Compression: Chronic venous insufficiency (blood pooling causing swelling/pain) that 
lead to ulcers.

One thought on “The Levels of Compression

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *